Cover Color Challenge: July – Brown & Bronze / June – Results

The Rules:

  • The Book’s cover must have the color of the month somewhere on it. It’s ok if it’s just the dominate color.
  • You have to read that book during the month the color is chosen.
  • Link up & have fun!

For Rachel’s Books Review‘s Challenge click here.


This month is going to be stressful for me; next week I’ll be in Croatia, after that one week home and then two weeks in Romania. It’s not stressful, it’s holiday, but I’m not certain how and what exactly I’ll be reading this month. I picked 4 books to take with me to Croatia (I know that might seem too much, but I’ll have two 14 hours bus rides and I’ll need something to occupy me) as for Romania, I’m taking me e-book reader with me, which means I might just finally read Divergent or The Hunger Games. I’m really not looking forward to buy any books, as (in case you’ve noticed) I bought a lot of books in the past few months. On my wishlist this month: 1. Don’t pay a cent for any book 2. Hopefully read at least 5 books. (I realise ACOTAR is not brown, but I  have to take this book to Romania for my best friend to read, which means I might get around reading it too)IMG_1410-001.JPG


June Results:

I am so happy that I read 4 books for this challenge and 8 in total! I wish this month I’ll have just as much success.

-Demi

Monthly Recap: June 2016

Hello dear readers. First of all I want to thank my new followers for deciding I’m actually not a waste of time and those who are still following me. Thank you guys! Last month was a pretty good month and I’m glad this one has been even better (I guess you could say I’m getting better in handling everything)


Movies I’ve Watched

My goal last month was to watch at least 5 movies and I ended up with 10!

#551 Addams Family Values (1993)       Score: 9.5       30.06.2016

As a kid I remember watching The New Addams Family and loving it! This movie was a walk down the memory lane. It was beautiful, funny and perfect to watch before a one week summer camp! You thought there’s no one crazier than the Addams family? Then you definitely have to meet Debbie! My favourite part was towards the end of the movie, when Wednesday sabotages a play to tell some harsh truth about the American history and American Dream.

#550 Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory (1971)    Score: 10     28.06.2016

A new favourite! I loved the book(s) and Roald Dahl is by far one of the finest storytellers. But I’ll warn you. There are two ways of looking at the message of this movie. The naive way would be to say it’s a beautiful story of a young poor boy whom faith finally gave what he deserved. The other one,more or less hidden, (and this is my opinion) is that Mr. Wonka chose all the children and turned them into examples; for Charlie or for us. Now it’s going to get a tiny bit crazy and you might want to skip this bit😂 but I’m a fan of theories and I’ve read a few online (one which claimed Mr. Wonka is in fact George Weasley from Harry Potter, click here if you’d like to read it). My theory is that Mr. Wonka is some kind of deity or Santa Claus, who punishes bad children and rewards the good ones. This movie teaches a lot of lessons and it’s full of puns, for example Violet turns into a blueberry to which her father says “Violet you’re turning violet.”. There’s more from where this came from. There were also songs included and beautifully in my opinion. I could ramble about this movie, but I wouldn’t want to spoil it all.

Willy Wonka: So much time and so little to do. Wait a minute. Strike that. Reverse it. Thank you.

Oompa Loompas: Oompa Loompa doo-pa-dee doo / I’ve got a perfect puzzle for you / Oompa Loompa doo-pa-dee dee / If you are wise you’ll listen to me / What do you get when you guzzle down sweets? / Eating as much as an elephant eats / What are you at getting terribly fat? / What do you think will come of that?/I don’t like the look of it / Oompa Loompa doo-pa-dee dah / If you’re not greedy, you will go far / You will live in happiness, too / Like the Oompa Loompa doo-pa-dee doo / Doo-pa-dee doo.

#549 Zoolander (2001)    Score: 9    27.06.2016

I know it’s the type of movie you shouldn’t like, but this is exactly the type of comedy that always works for me. I had such fun time watching this and you probably think I’m a weird person, but I don’t care. I also think I might use a lot of Zoolander gifs from now on!

zoolander read minds

#548 Before We Go (2014)   Score: 8.5       26.06.2016

At first I had mixed feelings about it because it’s not the typical kind of movie. It’s more like a short story, with an open sudden beginning and an open end. A lot of questions remain unanswered and if you’re an I-must-know-all-about-it kind of person like myself you might have a problem in linking this movie to the fullest. I would lie if I said I didn’t like it. Chris Evans (my favourite superhero at the moment) plays in it, so he might make it easier to like the movie. It felt very real and I liked that.

This is no perfect. There will always be struggle. You just need to choose who you wanna struggle with. You can’t allow the ones you love to determine how you love.

Brooke Dalton: It’s possible isn’t it? It’s possible that you could meet somebody who’s perfect for you even though you’re committed to somebody else.
Nick Vaughan: I think if you are committed to somebody, you don’t allow yourself to find perfection in someone else.

#547 Not Another Teen Movie (2001)   Score: 8.5   19.06.2016

Here we go again with my bad tastes in movies. Paradies. My guilty pleasure. I’ve watched almost every one and all I can say it’s that I want more. The Twilight parodies will probably be my all time favourites. But back to this movie. I liked it because it was funny, even if it made fun of an other genre I really love, 80’/90′ teen movies, especially Cruel Intentions and 10 Things I Hate About You. Did I mention Chris Evans plays in this too?

Jake: Malik, can you hold my books for me?
Malik: Sure, why not? I am the token black guy. I’m just supposed to smile and stay out of the conversation and say things like: “Damn,” “Shit,” and “That is whack.”

Ricky Lipman: I am *not* going to let you hurt Janey again. Okay? Besides, I love her.
Jake: Well, so do I.
Ricky Lipman: [slight pause] Yes, but I’m the best friend, and I have been in front of her face the whole time, and she just… hasn’t really realised it yet, but she will.
Jake: Well, I’m the reformed cool guy, who’s learned the error of his ways. She’s gonna forgive me for my mistakes, and realise that I really love her.
Ricky Lipman: [pause] Dammit, that’s true.

#546 The Lovely Bones (2009)   Score: 8.5    18.06.2016

“Centers on a young girl who has been murdered and watches over her family – and her killer – from purgatory. She must weigh her desire for vengeance against her desire for her family to heal.” (IMDB synopsis) Directed by Peter Jackson and with a couple of good actors. In my opinion it didn’t go very well. It felt way too long. She dies in the first 15 min and the movie lasts for another 2 hours. I liked the depiction of the purgatory which reminded me a lot of Where Dreams Come True, but the rest of the movies reminded me of Prisoners (which I find better). I’m not 100% recommending it, as it’s got a lot of flaws, but I’d still like to hear what you thought of it.

Susie Salmon: Nobody notices when we leave. I mean, the moment when we really choose to go. At best you might feel a whisper, or the wave of a whisper, undulating down. My name is Salmon, like the fish. First name: Susie. I was 14 years old, when I was murdered, on December 6, 1973. I was here for a moment. And then I was gone. I wish you all a long and happy life.

#545 That Awkward Moment (2014)    Score: 8.5    18.06.2016

As the title already gives it away, this movie was full of awkward moments to which I had to pause, because I felt embarrassed and OMG you should definitely watch this! Zac Efron plays in it. (Apparently I’m promoting the movies more to the ladies)

Daniel: Yeah, everybody knows you can’t call a girl a hooker. Even hookers hate being called hookers.

#544 Superhero Movie (2008)     Score: 6.5     09.06.2016

Ahmm…Remember I said I love parodies. Here’s the exception. “Orphaned high school student Rick Riker is bitten by a radioactive dragonfly, develops super powers (except for the ability to fly), and becomes a hero.” (IMDB synopsis). I loved the Scary Movie franchise, but this was bad, really bad.

Dr. Whitby: So, what brings you here?
Rick Riker: My uncle.
Dr. Whitby: Your uncle brought you here?
Rick Riker: No, he’s gravely injured.
Dr. Whitby: Well, he shouldn’t be driving, then.

#543 The Ugly Truth (2009)    Score: 9.5     08.06.2016

Back to some good stuff. I really, really, really love… no, not cupcakes… Gerard Butler. “A romantically challenged morning show producer is reluctantly embroiled in a series of outrageous tests by her chauvinistic correspondent to prove his theories on relationships and help her find love. His clever ploys, however, lead to an unexpected result.” (IMDB synopsis)

Abby Richter: [mockingly] I’m Mike Chadway. I like girls in Jello. I like to fuck like a monkey. Don’t fall in love. It’s scary.
Mike Chadway: Yeah, it is scary. It’s terrifying. Especially when I’m in love with a psycho like you.
Abby Richter: I am not a psycho!
Mike Chadway: I just told you that I loved you and all you heard was “psycho.” Well you’re the definition of neurotic.
Abby Richter: No! The definition of neurotic is a person who suffers from anxiety, obsessive thoughts, compulsive acts, and, and physical ailments without any objective evidence of…
Mike Chadway: Shut up! Yet again I just told you I’m in love with you and you’re standing here giving me a vocabulary lesson.
Abby Richter: You’re in love with me. Why?
Mike Chadway: Beats the shit out of me, but I am.

#542 The Age of Adaline (2015)   Score: 9.5      08.06.2016

A very beautiful story with a very original story. A woman struck by lightning that stops ageing. A must watch! I’d say this was my cinematic highlight this month.

Narrator: On December 31, 2014, a taxicab travelled through San Francisco, from Chinatown to Marin. The car carried a single passenger: a woman, her birth name Adaline Bowman, current alias Jennifer Larson. This is the first and last chapter of her story.

Narrator: As the years passed, Adaline credited her unchanging appearance to a combination of a healthy diet, exercise, heredity, and good luck.

#541 Romeo + Juliet (1996)     Score: 8.5     08.06.2016

‘Leo should have won an Oscar for this’

A glooming peace this morning with it brings. The sun for sorrow will not show his head. Go hence and have more talk of these sad things. Some shall be pardoned, and some punished. For never was a story of more woe than this of Juliet and her Romeo.


TV Shows

I’m a HUGE fan of Hannibal. Of course no one will ever be able to beat Anthony Hopkins, but Mads Mikkelsen deserves a round of applause as well. I loved everything about this show. When I learned that the third season was going to be the last (this was last summer and I hadn’t start the season yet) I felt reluctant at first. That feeling that you don’t want something good to be over. This month I decided it was about time to do it and OMG so many emotions. The ending was AMAZING and unexpected perfect for both Hannibal and Will Graham. If you don’t know the story I’m going to try to explain it. (Note: it’s all based on Thomas Harris’ novels). The show firstly introduces us with Will Graham (Hugh Dancy), a FBI assistant, who helps catch mass murderers. He’s got a special imagination, meaning that he can think as the killers and knows exactly how they did it. This imagination comes with a price (he has nightmares, sleepwalking etc.). Eventually he is introduced to Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Mads Mikkelsen),  a psychiatrist, who helps him find the killers. Big secret: Hannibal is the killer the FBI is after. The first season is basically detective work. In the second season Will finds the truth about Hannibal and has a big inner conflict. The third season is the climax of the story and takes place in Italy mostly. It’s not something for everyone to watch. It contains a lot of brutality, gore and blood and for this reason I think I kind of lost a piece of my humanity (not sure it before or after). Between meals Hannibal is a pretty nice person and you can have some really cool philosophical discussions with him and you have to either convince him you’re not worth becoming a meal are you’re not yet ready to be cooked. He likes taking care of his soon-to-become meals. In a way to be chosen by him is compliment; he always prepares the food the best way you’d ever imagine and he never throws away any good parts. Very weird thought. Anyway, if you think you’re though enough you should definitely watch it.


Books I’ve Read

  1. William Shakespeare – Romeo and Juliet (June 27) A play
  2. Nicholas Sparks – A Walk To Remember (June 21) A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy
  3. J.M. Barrie – Peter Pan (June 20) A book more than 100 years old
  4. Wylie Overstreet – The History of the World According to Facebook (June 19) A funny book
  5. Ruta Sepetys – Between Shades Of Grey (June 12) A book with a color in the title
  6. Neil Babra – Hamlet (June 9) A graphic novel
  7. Matt Wiegle – Romeo and Juliet (June 5) A graphic novel
  8. J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (June 3) A book that came out the year you were born

I’ve read 1839 pages in total, 61 pages a day

Newest Additions To The Bookshelf:

IMG_1367.JPGIMG_1365.JPGI’m starting to feel I should visit a doctor. No matter how hard I tell myself to buy no book, I just can’t do it. Please excuse me while I go to hide under a rock. Picture no°1: the books that are pilled onto each other (+The History of the World According to Facebook) I got on an online sale (those buy for 30€ and get 5€ off kind of deal). Hamlet I first got from the library and then bought it. The rest I got from Romania. Picture no°2: I got all these books for 14€ from a local thrift shop ‘again, this is the exact reason why I should stay inside with no internet’ ‘when I’d eventually read all my books, I would go outside again’

 

Do you know any of these books? What opinions do you have on them? I’d love to read about them. Also, what about the movies? 


-Demi