“Thursday Quotables” No°4 – Me Before You

This weekly feature is the place to highlight a great quote, line, or passage discovered during your reading each week.  Whether it’s something funny, startling, gut-wrenching, or just really beautifully written, Thursday Quotables is where my favorite lines of the week will be, and you’re invited to join in! 
created by Lisa@bookshelffantasies


Hello my dear readers! I hope you’re having a lovely Thursday! I’m back today with a couple of quotes from my recent finished book, Me Before You. I’m so heartbroken I can’t even explain how it was. I also watched the movie and feel even more heartbroken, so I’m not sure when (and if) I’ll write a review on it soon.

Goodreads Synopsis

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

I hadn’t realised that music could unlock things in you, could transport you to somewhere even the composer hadn’t predicted. It left an imprint in the air around you, as if you carried its remnants with you when you went.

Clark, I’ve never seen anyone more uncomfortable with a human body than you. You act like it’s radioactive.

It’s just that the thing you never understand about being a mother, until you are one, is that it is not the grown man — the galumphing, unshaven, stinking, opinionated off-spring — you see before you, with his parking tickets and unpolished shoes and complicated love life. You see all the people he has ever been all rolled up into one.


What quotes have you found this week? Have you read Me Before You? If so, what did you think of it?

-Demi