Book Review :: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling

Published: 26th of June 1997 by Bloomsbury Publishing

Pages: 223

Genre: Fantasy

Rating:  

Goodreads synopsis: (for the new – 1st of September 2014 – edition)

When a letter arrives for unhappy but ordinary Harry Potter, a decade-old secret is revealed to him that apparently he’s the last to know. His parents were wizards, killed by a Dark Lord’s curse when Harry was just a baby, and which he somehow survived. Leaving his unsympathetic aunt and uncle for Hogwarts, a wizarding school brimming with ghosts and enchantments, Harry stumbles upon a sinister mystery when he finds a three-headed dog guarding a room on the third floor. Then he hears of a missing stone with astonishing powers which could be valuable, dangerous – or both. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

Before heading off I’d like to say this is going to be a mixture of “a walk down memory lane” and my own experience (finally) reading the book, probably not one of those proper reviews. In case this bothers you, you know what you gotta do. Here we go.

Oh you may not think I’m pretty,
But don’t judge on what you see,
I’ll eat myself if you can find
A smarter hat than me.
You can keep your bowlers black,
Your top hats sleek and tall,
For I’m the Hogwarts Sorting Hat
And I can cap them all.
There’s nothing hidden in your head
The Sorting Hat can’t see,
So try me on and I will tell you
Where you ought to be.
You might belong in Gryffindor,
Where dwell the brave at heart,
Their daring, nerve, and chivalry
Set Gryffindors apart;
You might belong in Hufflepuff,
Where they are just and loyal,
Those patient Hufflepuffs are true
And unafraid of toil;
Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
if you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind;
Or perhaps in Slytherin
You’ll make your real friends,
Those cunning folks use any means
To achieve their ends.
So put me on! Don’t be afraid!
And don’t get in a flap!
You’re in safe hands (though I have none)
For I’m a Thinking Cap!

This beautiful song was in fact the first quote from the book that I marked. I had already read 130 pages and didn’t find anything extremely impressing, I know the book as a whole is a masterpiece, but I had a hard time finding quotes. I’ve got 9 in total (compared to The Fault in our Stars, where I had 9 already after the 2nd chapter… awkward…)

Hermione was the last person to do anything against the rules, and here she was, pretending she had, to get them out of trouble. It was as if Snape hat started handing out sweets.

But from that moment on, Hermione Granger become their friend. There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.

I love the book. How can you not? It’s our generation’s legacy. Again many thanks Shannon for making me feel terrible for taking so long to read it😂. There’s not much I can say or advertise, as EVERYONE should know how good this series is, so I’ll give you a couple of more quotes that I liked very much and a few movie scenes, because memories, child wizards and ‘awww…’. Strange fact regarding a book-movie difference: In the movie, Hermione sits with Ron and Harry in the train and gets into larger conversations with them pretty soon. In the book it took like 200 pages (after the troll incident) to get to that level of friendship, which surprised me.

Your mother died to save you. If there is one thing Voldemort cannot understand, it is love. He didn’t realise that love as powerful as you mother’s for you leaves its own mark.

I remember talking to my best friend Irina and trying to convince her to read this book ( poor thing, she’s probably got an even longer TBR list than me😂 and keeps nagging me that I give her to many physical books and book suggestions). She said it would be too weird for her to read a book in which the protagonist is younger than her, especially a teenager in his first years of puberty (those were her words). In that moment I realised why Harry Potter will be eternal and suitable for all ages. There are no childish actions or scenes. Damn it, at 11 years old he was even braver than I am today. He’s a true role model, all the characters are, and they’ll have a special place in my heart forever.


With this I conclude my ahm…should I still call it review… I’m not sure. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed it. Maybe you’ll even want to re-watch the movie right now, because that’s what I’m going to do tonight. Hot chocolate ✓ popcorn ✓ blanket ✓.

-Demi

Leave a comment