Ten Books Set Outside The US

Friday 56Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.


A nice and warm afternoon to the north hemisphere! Hello and welcome to another fun Top Ten Tuesday! To be honest this isn’t going to be hard to do and I’ll probably definitely be raving about some specific books again.

Between Shades of Grey by Ruta SepetysBetween Shades of Gray

For those of you who heard about or read The Book Thief this is going to break your heart again. Set in Lithuania and then in Siberia in 1941, this book shows that Hitler wasn’t the only bad guy of that time. I learned so much from this book, things they don’t even teach us in school. I allow myself to say that if you though Hitler was a bad guy, you should wait and meet Stalin.

The Book Thief by Markus ZusakThe Book Thief

Set in Nazi Germany, this book will always have a special place in my heart. It is so unique and heartbreaking and everyone should read it.

Me Before You by Jojo MoyesMe Before You (Me Before You, #1)

Moving onto another heartbreaking novel we’ve got Me Before You, which is set in the UK of our time. This book has been the topic of many discussions lately and I approve that it deserves the attention. I wrote a rather small review on Goodreads and I’m still planning a complete one for my blog.

The Alchemist by Paulo CoelhoThe Alchemist

Changing the mood for a happier one (although I can’t promise it will last). This book is set in Andalusia, Spain at first and its main character travels to Egypt. It is a very powerful book that teaches its reader to never lose hope and to keep on fighting for their dream. Under 200 pages this book left me speechless and I wish more people would read it.

Slumdog Millionaire by Vikas SwarupSlumdog Millionaire

This book shows glimpses of the harsh Indian life many find themselves in, but also how one’s life experiences helped him win Who Wants To Be A Millionaire. High recommendation.

Perfume: The Story of a Murderer by Patrick SüskindPerfume: The Story of a Murderer

Set in France this has been one of my favourite books of all time. It is a very dark, bizarre and psychological novel that I wouldn’t recommend everyone to read.

Peony in Love by Lisa SeePeony in Love

A wonderful novel set in 1600 China. A story full of traditions and history, but also love, family and friendship. Most of the book takes place in the after life and I think the whole book teaches a lot about Chinese culture. I highly recommend it.

The Girl of the Sixth Moon by Moony Witcher

Fetita celei de a sasea luni (Fetita celei de a sasea luni, #1)Nina si Misterul Notei a Opta (A sasea luna, #2)Nina si blestemul sarpelui cu pene (Fetita celei de a sasea luni, #3)Nina si Ochiul Secret al Atlantidei (Fetita celei de a sasea luni, #4)

One of my favourite series (like I said before I’m sad they weren’t published in English). The main setting is Venice, but the main characters travel through space and time, so you would travel to ancient Egypt, the Maya civilisation and Atlantis.

The Songs of the Seraphim by Anne Rice

Angel Time (The Songs of the Seraphim, #1)Of Love and Evil (Songs of the Seraphim, #2)

This series opens in the present with a contract killer as the main character (I don’t remember where this present takes place). He is visited by an angle who offers him a way towards salvation which includes time travelling to thirteenth-century England and fifteenth-century Rome.

Dracula and Dracula The Un-Dead by Bram and Dacre Stoker

DraculaDracula, the Un-Dead

One of my favourite classics will always be Dracula because I love stories about vampires and there is none as bad-ass as Dracula. It is set in Transylvania, Romania and also in the UK.


There you have my choices for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday. I tried to give as many different locations as possible. My honorable mentions would include: The Harry Potter series, Peter Pan, HamletThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Tunnels series.

-Demi xx

7 thoughts on “Ten Books Set Outside The US

  1. Great list! Between Shades of Grey is new to me, but am definitely adding that one to my TBR list. And OMG, I can’t believe I forgot to put The Alchemist on my own list. Love that book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

