“Saturday 9” No° 9 :: Ode to Billie Joe (1967)

Click on the image below for more information.


Saturday 9: Ode to Billie Joe (1967)
If you’re not familiar with today’s song, you can hear it here.

1) This song takes places on “the third of June,” which is described as “another sleepy, dusty” day. Describe the weather where you were on Friday, June 3, 2016.
Awful, rain, rain, rain and only rain.

2) In this song, the family sits down to eat and discuss the doings of their friends and neighbours. Mama, Papa, Brother and Sister were at the table. Who did you have dinner with on Friday?
My brother, mother and father.

3) Young Billie Joe MacAllister playfully put a frog down another kid’s back. Do you see many frogs where you live?
I’ve never really saw any, but heard them a lot of times. My dad told me that one summer he was driving and the whole street was full of frogs, it was starting to get colder and the road was still pretty warm (I guess?).

4) This song made Mississippi’s Tallahatchie Bridge famous. What’s the name of a bridge in your neighborhood?
I know of some, but I don’t think they have a name or I just don’t know it.

5) Bobbie Gentry often performed with Glen Campbell. Mr. Campbell’s family is very open about Glen’s battle with Alzheimer’s. Is anyone in your life facing this terrible disease?
Unfortunately yes. My grandma on my father’s side. She is being taken care of at a special facility.

6) “Ode to Billie Joe” was made into a movie directed by Max Baer, Jr. Mr. Baer is better known for playing Jethro Bodine in a famous 1960s era sitcom. Can you name it?
Uff.. My parents weren’t even born at that time and besides The Twilight Zone I’m not really interested in anything from that time.

7) Bobbie Gentry made one of her last public appearances in 1981 on The Tonight Show with Johnny Carson. Johnny is now seen in reruns on the Antenna TV channel. Think of the last TV show you watched. Was it new or was it a rerun?
Lately I haven’t really watched anything on TV besides news, but I think it was Romania’s Got Talent, live.

8) In 1967, when this song was popular, Sweden changed its traffic laws and Swedes began driving on the right. Have you ever driven in a foreign country? If so, did you have a hard time adapting to their laws?
I don’t have a driving license yet, but by the time I’ll be studying in Britain I’ll have it, so I’ll be able to tell then.

9) Random question: Which would you rather have more of — compliments or hugs?
I don’t need any as long as they are not truly meant.

-Demi

3 thoughts on ““Saturday 9” No° 9 :: Ode to Billie Joe (1967)

    1. The frogs thing was funny, my das tried his best to miss them. 🙂 As for my grandma I kind of accepted as it is. I’m just glad that I still have her and someone is taking good care of her.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

