Movie Review:: “X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)”

I have been waiting for this movie for sooo long and I finally got to watch it on Wednesday. Before you read on, you might want to know I am a HUGE fan of X-Men, superheroes and everything Marvel so it is going to be practically impossible for me to give away any flaws, maybe just some things I did not like. Also I’ll explain why I like this movie more than Captain America: Civil War. Here we go.


Plot

This movie introduces us with Apocalypse, the very first mutant (or a God as he likes to call himself) that has been asleep for thousands of years and is awakened in the 1970s by accident. He is very disappointed with his “children” that they let the mankind rule the world and plans to wipe clean the earth and rebuild it. He basically plans on bringing the Apocalypse on Earth (definitely did not see that coming). Because of the actions in X-Men: Days of the Future Past, the whole X-Men universe has been reset, basically none of the past movies ever happened (which sounds very familiar with Apocalypse’s plan) except for X-Men: First Class ( and the scenes in the past from Days of the Future Past and Origins: Wolverine… but you get what I mean). This ugly dude that has no fashion style builds a small army of 4 ‘horseman’ consisting of Storm, Angel, Psylocke and Magneto to help him with his mission. On the good team we have got Cyclops, Jean Grey, Mystique, Beast, Xavier, Nightcrawler and Quicksilver.

My Opinion (Spoilers) (also, you might not understand what I’m talking about if you haven’t watched the movie)

This movie was FANTASTIC! Quicksilver has become my favourite mutant (sorry Wolverine) and if you watched the movie you understand why. The scene where he saves all the students from the blast, his good tastes in music, his nonchalance and charisma make him the best character in this movie. Also the scene where he kicks Apocalypse butt/face was priceless. Apocalypse was pretty much just an ass (excuse my language), because he never gave the world a chance and took advantage of people’s grief and misery. The only good thing about him is his hairstyling skill; Storm and Xavier’s haircuts rock! I felt really sad for Magneto (he did not deserve it universe!) and I wished so much that he knew he still had a son (dang it Quicksilver, you should have said something).
No reason for this picture, besides the fact that it is beautiful! Back to my opinion, I did not think the movie was boring or too long, I think it was balanced. As mentioned above I liked Apocalypse more than Civil War, mainly because prior to the movie I was a fan of Iron-Man and he disappointed me in this movie (I’ll debate more on this topic in the monthly recap). I felt frustrated with the characters and that’s why Apocalypse did (for me) a better job. The scene with Jean Grey aka the Phoenix was marvellous. I can’t wait to see how her story evolves from here. Another aspect of the movie is the after-credits scene, which shows a man taking Wolverine’s blood sample and putting it besides other unknown ones in a briefcase, that has “Essex Corp” inscribed on it.  My opinion on it is that it’s got something to do with Mr. Sinister (and you could guess by the name that he has got some really bad plans with that blood).

Conclusion

I liked this movie A LOT and I think it is the best of its franchise. I highly recomand it (you’re going to have funny, sad, but also serious moments). Looking back I realise it’s got some big flaws, like it doesn’t care about physics, but I’m not the type of person to pay attention to them. MOVIES SHOULD ENTERTAIN YOU, SO TAKE A STEP BACK AND RELAX.
Extra Rating (inspired by Shannon)

  • Characters: ★★
  • Plot: ☆☆
  • Ending: ★☆
  • Originality: ★☆☆
  • Trailer: ★★☆☆

Aired: 18 May 2016
Director: Bryan Singer
Stars: James McAvoy (Professor Charles Xavier), Michael Fassbender (Erik Lehnsherr / Magneto), Jennifer Lawrence (Raven / Mystique)
Lenght: 144 min
IMDB Score: 7,5/10

Jean Grey: [to Mystique] Seeing you on TV changed my life.
Nightcrawler: Me too.
Quicksilver: Me too. I mean, I still live in my mom’s basement, but yeah.

Quicksilver: No matter how fast I run, I always seem to be too late.

Apocalypse: You are all my children, and you’re lost because you follow blind leaders. No more false gods. I’m here now.

-Demi

One thought on “Movie Review:: “X-Men: Apocalypse (2016)”

Leave a Reply

