Book Review :: “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

I’m like. Like. I’m like a ‘grenade’, Mom. I’m a grenade and at some point I’m going to blow up and I would like to minimize the casualties, okay?”
Hazel Grace Lancaster, The Fault In Our Stars, page 99, paperback


The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Published: 2012 by Dutton Books
Genre: YA, Romance, Drama
My rating: 5+ Stars
318 pages (paperback edition)
Goodreads synopsis:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.
Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.


I’ve been postponing this book for almost two years and besides that I regret that quoting from it has become mainstream now and my review is going to be seen like that. This post contains SPOILERS.

Plot

This is not the kind of story you expect to have a happy end or some kind of climax that would change the end entirely. You know from the beginning that the protagonist is going to die (the thing is that you realise half through the book that you have the wrong protagonist in mind).

Knowing the end doesn’t take away from the story, because it’s the journey that counts. Although I’ve never been in her place, I understood Hazel and why she tried to keep her distance from Augustus, but at the same time he was right too. “You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you have some say in who hurts you.”
I don’t think I have a favourite moment, but I really liked the part when they were in Amsterdam, because I think it is one of those moments filled with a lot of emotions (not that the book has only a few of those). After that the roller coaster didn’t go up any more.

The Characters

Augustus Waters

I loved how Augustus was portrayed, not just a hot boy as described by Hazel (although she does say a couple of times that he’s not that handsome), but also a very normal down-to-earth person. And not to forget his charisma and metaphors. I’m not going to say that he held a heroic battle against cancer and thought us a lesson with that, because again I agree with Hazel. Cancer was just another part of him, a side-effect of dying. He did teach me the lesson to cherish the time I have, be glad that I can use both my legs properly and that life can be bitch sometimes and you can still go on.

Hazel Grace Lancaster

It was very easy for me to connect with her (my mum could easily decide that I’m depressed as well) and since I (almost) agreed with her every time, made me like her even more. She teaches life lessons just as much as Augustus and there’s no reason not to like her.

(screams ‘they were supposed to be paper Winnie-the-Pooh cups’) All in all, I did like the way they completed each other and the chemistry between them, and of course the deep philosophical conversations. I think it helped watching the movie 2 years ago, that I had something to begin with, as in imaging them.

Final Opinion

I believe that 40 maybe 50 years from now, people will look back at this book and will say that it is a classic.


How about you? Have you read the book? And, if yes, what are your opinios on it? I’d really love to hear what others thought about it!

-Demi

3 thoughts on “Book Review :: “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

    1. I would suggest you first read the book. All the time I was reading it I couldn’t really imagine the things myself, because they were already shown in the movie and that was all I could see. Also I think it is funnier to read then watch, because you get to see how someone else imagined the story 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

