“Friday 56” No°1 and “Book Beginning” No°1

I decided to join these two memes, since they both handle books and take place on Fridays.


Friday 56f2ed4-friday2b56

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)

I chose Sandra Brown’s “Hidden Fires” as part of my April Cover Color Challenge

Hidden FiresThe moment preacher’s daughter Lauren Holbrook walked into the Texas mansion, she suspected she had been tricked. Instead of becoming wealthy Olivia Lockett’s secretary, the matriarch presented her with a scandalous offer: to marry, in name only, the Lockett dynasty’s heir — playboy rebel Jared Lockett. Lauren could not know Olivia’s real motive, but she was achingly aware of her feelings for Jared. Now, in spite of terrible risks, she had to trust her reckless husband — and fight to make their marriage as strong as her love.


page 56

She raised the velvety lashes the hid her eyes and glanced in his direction. For a moment, she returned his steady gaze, then rapidly shifted her eyes away from him. A man could drown in those dove-colored eyes before he even knew he was sinking.


Chapter 1

The heat from the September sun was like a physical assault to the young woman who stepped down from the train at the Austin depot. Her ivory cheeks were slightly flushed, and a few vagrant tendrils  of raven-black hair escaped the chignon under her hat. She fanned a lacy handkerchief in front of her face as she eagerly scanned the crowd for a familiar brown Stetson, and the tall, white-haired man who would be wearing it.

12 thoughts on ““Friday 56” No°1 and “Book Beginning” No°1

    1. Hi fuonlyknew
      The cover was the reason I was able to find this book; it caught my eye and I knew I had to buy it. It is in fact my first book from Sandra Brown, but I have a feeling it won’t be the last 🙂 Enjoy your weekend!

      Like

    1. Hi Kathy
      I’m really glad I did that 🙂 I read your post and I’m happy to say you did the same for me. Wish you happy reading as well!

      Like

      1. Hi Whitney,
        Thank you for the comment. I realised the link didn’t work and looked your blog up and then found the post. 🙂 I am happy to say it got my attention and I will definitely look the book up. Wish you a nice weekend!

        Like

    1. Thank you for the comment Lisa. I just read your post and added “Scene of the Brine” to my to-read list 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

