The Bucket List

the20bucket20list_1Even now I cannot understand the measure of a life, but I can tell you this. I know that when he died, his eyes were closed and his heart was open. And I’m pretty sure he was happy with his final resting place, because he was buried on the mountain. And that was against the law.


“The Bucket List” is an American comedy-drama movie that came out in 2007.

Plot

Billionaire Edward Cole (Jack Nicholson) and car mechanic Carter Chambers (Morgan Freeman) are complete strangers, until fate lands them in the same hospital room. The men find they have two things in common: a need to come to terms with who they are and what they have done with their lives, and a desire to complete a list of things they want to see and do before they die. Against their doctor’s advice, the men leave the hospital and set out on the adventure of a lifetime.

My Opinion

What would you do, if you find out you only had a short amount of time left to live? At some point in our lives we all gave an answer to that question. Although some critics have said this movie’s script is weak and obvious and you know from the begging of the movie that the two men will die, it was still worth watching. It made me cry, because I was happy about the way they got to spend their final days and it still came as a shock for me when Carter died, because I was not expecting it to be so soon. I guess that’s how death works. Anyway, I truly enjoyed the movie, because of  Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman, who are both two of my favourite actors, and their lines, which made me laugh…

Edward Cole: You’re shitting me.
Carter Chambers: No, the cats beat me to it!

Carter Chambers: Is it Tommy or Thomas?
Thomas: It’s Matthew, actually. He thought that was too biblical…

and cry…

Edward Cole: Carter and I saw the world together, which is amazing when you think that only three months ago we were complete strangers. I hope that it doesn’t sound selfish of me, but the last months of his life were the best months of mine. He saved my life, and he knew it before I did.

All in all, the movie showed me that you should never stop believing in your dreams, never lose hope in achieving what you want and that is never to late to make a bucket list and travel around the world to fulfil it 😀 (of course it would be much easier if you find a billionaire to help you). 

The List:
1. Witness something truly majestic.
2. Help a complete stranger for the good.
3. Laugh until I cry.
4. Drive a Shelby Mustang.
5. Kiss the most beautiful girl in the world.
6. Get a tattoo.
7. Skydiving!
8. Visit Stonehenge.
9. Spend a week at the Louvre.
10. See Rome!
11. Dinner @ La Chevre d’Or.
12. See the Pyramids.
13. Masada.
14. Taj Mahal.
15. Hong Kong.
Note: The lines in italisc were written by Edward Cole, the rest by Carter Chambers.

Personal Rating: 9.5/10

Director: Rob Reiner
Writer: Justin Zackham
Stars:Jack Nicholson: Edward Cole
Morgan Freeman: Carter Chambers
Sean Hayes: Thomas
Length: 97 min
IMDB Score 7,4
Trailer

One thought on “The Bucket List

Leave a Reply

