“Pushing The Limits” by Katie McGarry

My rating: 5/5
Published: 2012 by Harlequin Teen
392 pages

I am really excited about writing this review since it is my first one. I got this book as a present from my best friend on my birthday in October (2015) and I have been putting it off ever since because of the tremendous school work I had, but I finally managed to get on with it last week (04.03.16) and I just couldn’t stop reading it. If anyone is wondering if this book is worth reading, the answer is “definitely YES”. I will not go in depth with the story itself, for that you will have to read the book ;), but I will share my experience reading the novel. The first thing that came to my mind after finishing the book is how vividly the story was presented. It was unlike any other romantic novel I have read so far, and I have read all of Nicholas Sparks’ books, and although I perceived them as extremely realistic, “Pushing the Limits” achieved another level of reality for me. I have experienced depression and bullying at a younger age and I think that created a connection between the protagonists, Echo and Noah, and me which made me empathise with how it feels to experience what they experienced. After all that is the main purpose of a story, to transpose you in another world and give you the chance to live more than just one life. That was exactly how this book felt to me. Nevertheless, being a hopeless romantic, the relationship between Noah and Echo was the cheery on top. It was simply that kind of love that everyone wishes to experience, and it was beautiful.

The worst type of crying wasn’t the kind everyone could see—the wailing on street corners, the tearing at clothes. No, the worst kind happened when your soul wept and no matter what you did, there was no way to comfort it. A section withered and became a scar on the part of your soul that survived. For people like me and Echo, our souls contained more scar tissue than life.

and this is just an example of how much I liked Katie McGarry’s writing style, which is incredible and made me consider reading more from her.

To put it in a nutshell, the book was amazing (5 stars) and it is without doubt worth reading.

Owned(Romanian)

For my Reading Challenge: A book set in high school

2 thoughts on ““Pushing The Limits” by Katie McGarry

Leave a Reply

